Following a successful 2019 District Level Election, a colourful ceremony was held on Thursday, 23rd January, 2020 at the auditorium of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana, Anyinam to inaugurate the Second Assembly of the Atiwa East District Assembly.

The ceremony was graced by Ms. Joyce Opoku Boateng the representative of H.E the President and had in attendance Traditional Rulers, the Clergy, Executives of Political Parties, Members of the Civil Society Organizations, Heads of Department and Agencies and a cross section of the General Public.

The incoming Assembly members sworn-in the Oaths of Office, Allegiance and Secrecy administered by the Circuit Court Judge at Anyinam, Justice Franklin T. Glover.

The District Chief Executive, Hon. Kwabena Panin Nkansah in his welcome address congratulated the newly elected and appointed Assembly Members. He acknowledged the effort of the Electoral Commission and Security Services for a successful District Level Election. He as well commended the effort of first Assembly for the achievements made so far. He briefed the Assembly Members on their core duties and responsibilities as well as the functions of the Assembly as enshrined in the Local Governance Act, 2016 Act 936. The District Chief Executive charged them to bring their expertise to bear on the activities of the Assembly and also undertake their mandate with the interest of the citizenry at heart. He called for unity and camaraderie among the Assembly Members and advised them to deliberate on issues constructively, devoid of any parochial interest. He finally called for the support of key stakeholders in bringing development to the people.

The chief of Asamang Tamfoe, Osabirama Kwame Koh II in his address reminded the Assembly members of the task ahead and wished them well. He further admonished them to support the government in delivering on its mandate. He charged the Assembly to deal with sanitation offenders and ensure the district is rid of filth. He finally called for support in constructing town roads in the district and urged the Assembly members to support the Assembly in revenue mobilization for accelerated development of the district.

The Election of a Presiding Member witnessed Hon. Samuel Obeng Asamoah, an elected Assembly Member of Enyiresi Electoral Area emerging as the winner. He was sworn into office by the circuit court judge, Justice Franklin T. Glover.

The Second half of the inaugural meeting also saw the successful constitution of the various committees and sub-committees of the Assembly. Twi was adopted as the official Language of the House in addition to English Language. The Model Standing orders for MMDAs was also adopted at the inaugural meeting.

By Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *