About AEDA


The Atiwa East District Assembly is one of the thirty – two districts in the Eastern Region of Ghana; it gained its present status by the Legislative Instrument (LI) 2344 of 2018. It was carved out from the then Atiwa District Assembly now Atiwa West District Assembly, in the year 2018. Its Capital is Anyinam which is situated on the Kumasi Accra high way.

Location and Size

The Atiwa East District covers a total area of 625.78 square kilometers lying between longitudes O° 3ʻ West and O° 50 East and latitudes 6° 10̕ North and 6° 30̕ South.  The District is bounded on the North by Kwahu West and Kwahu South Districts, on the North-East by the Fanteakwa South District, Abuakwa South to the South-East, Kwaebibrim to the South and Birim North to the West. The strategic location of Atiwa East District Assembly, sharing boundaries with districts that are famous in agricultural production, provides an opportunity to develop agro processing facilities to make use of raw materials from these areas.The large area under the jurisdiction of the District has implication for many small settlements whose population may not measure up to the population threshold for provision of certain socio-economic infrastructure. The district requires enough financial resources to be able to close the infrastructure gap.

The district is divided into four (4) Town/Area Councils namely Anyinam, Sekyere, Asamang-Tamfoe, and Kadewaso and Eighteen Assembly members including the Hon. Member of Parliament and the Hon. District Chief Executive with their population thresh of more than 1,000 people. The rest of the settlements have population less than 1,000 people in each settlement.